DEPARTMENTAL MANUAL



TRANSMITTAL SHEET

PART
105 DM 3 and 110 DM 2

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, CONTACT
Office of the Solicitor

ORGANIZATION
Department of the Interior
Unified Regions
Office of the Solicitor

ORGANIZATION
May 10, 2019

EXPLANATION OF MATERIAL TRANSMITTED:

This Departmental Manual Release provides a new chapter 105 DM 3 – Unified Regions, that describes the Department's Unified Regional Boundaries. All Bureau regional organizations, with the exception of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Bureau of Indian Education, and the Office of the Special Trustee, must conform to the Department's 12 common geographic regional boundaries. The boundaries are primarily based on watersheds with adjustments to follow State and county boundaries for administrative simplicity.

This Release also updates the functional description for the Office of the Solicitor, 110 DM 2 – Office of the Solicitor that adds the description for the Department's Unified Regional Boundaries. Other revisions to 110 DM 2 include:

- -Incorporating the requirements of Secretary's Order 3371, The Department of the Interior Freedom of Information Act Program, dated November 20, 2018. The Departmental Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Office is realigned under the Solicitor and the Solicitor serves as the Chief FOIA Officer for the Department.
- -Realigning the FOIA/Privacy Act Appeals Officer from the Division of Administration to the Division of General Law.
- -Adding responsibilities under the Division of General Law to include legal assistance and counsel to the Assistant Secretary Policy, Management and Budget and the Endangered Species Committee.
- -Noting placement of the Employment and Labor Law Unit in the Division of General Law.
- -Reorganizing the functions in the Division of Land and Water Resources into the Division of Water Resources and the Division of Land Resources.
- -Updating the language in the description for the Division of Mineral Resources to recognize the elimination of the Minerals Management Service and creation of the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management and the Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement.
- -Renaming the Deputy Solicitor the Principal Deputy Solicitor and adding language that describes responsibilities for the Deputy Solicitor(s).

Law Bow hutt

Secretary of the Interior

FILING	GINSTRU	CTIONS:
--------	----------------	---------

Remove: Insert:

None 105 DM 3 (3 Sheets) New

110 DM 2 (3 Sheets) 110 DM 2 (4 Sheets)

Department of the Interior Departmental Manual

Effective Date: 05/10/19
Series: Organization
Part 105: Department

Chapter 3: Unified Regions

Originating Office: Office of the Executive Secretariat and Regulatory Affairs

105 DM 3

- 3.1 **General**. With the exception of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Bureau of Indian Education, and Office of the Special Trustee for American Indians, all regional offices of the Bureaus and Offices of the Department have 12 common geographic regional boundaries. The boundaries are based primarily on watersheds, with adjustments to follow State and county boundaries for administrative simplicity.
- 3.2 **Objectives**. The 12 Unified Regions establish a common geographic frame of reference to optimize Departmental efficiency and effectiveness by:
- A. Enabling regional executives across Bureaus to more easily share a common knowledge base.
- B. Improving inter-Bureau coordination and communication to better address varying Bureau priorities and perspectives.
- C. Enhancing inter-Bureau cooperation and mutual assistance in programmatic areas of shared mission interests or activities.
- D. Developing a deeper shared understanding of regional stakeholders, especially other Federal, Tribal, State, or local agencies.
- E. Improving interaction with the general public and partners by reducing confusion caused by different Bureau regional boundaries.
- F. Enhancing transparency, accountability, and responsiveness as a result of a shared perspective.
- 3.3 Responsibilities of the Bureaus under Unified Regions.
- A. All Bureaus (105 DM 2.1B), except those referenced in 105 DM 3.1, shall adopt the structure of the 12 Unified Regions, adapt to accommodate the 12 Unified Regions, and describe the regions in their respective Departmental Manual Chapter(s).

- B. Each Bureau regional executive will participate as a member of the relevant Unified Region Executive Team, where appropriate.
- 3.4 **Field Special Assistants**. The Secretary may appoint Field Special Assistants to lead activities within Unified Regions pursuant to 110 DM 3.
- 3.5 **Description of the Unified Region names and geographic boundaries** (as represented on the map in Appendix 1).
- A. <u>Region 1 North Atlantic Appalachian</u>. Region 1 consists of the entirety of Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Virginia, Vermont, and West Virginia.
- B. <u>Region 2 South Atlantic Gulf.</u> Region 2 consists of the entirety of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.
- C. <u>Region 3 Great Lakes</u>. Region 3 consists of the entirety of Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Ohio, and Wisconsin.
- D. <u>Region 4 Mississippi Basin</u>. Region 4 consists of the entirety of Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana, Missouri, and Mississippi.
- E. <u>Region 5 Missouri Basin</u>. Region 5 consists of the entirety of Kansas, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota; and the portion of Montana that includes the counties of Glacier, Pondera, Teton, Lewis and Clark, Jefferson, Madison, Beaverhead, and those counties to the east, as shown in Appendix 2.
- F. <u>Region 6 Arkansas Rio Grande Texas Gulf</u>. Region 6 consists of the entirety of Oklahoma and Texas.
- G. <u>Region 7 Upper Colorado Basin</u>. Region 7 consists of the entirety of Colorado, New Mexico, Wyoming, and Utah.
- H. Region 8 Lower Colorado Basin. Region 8 consists of the entirety of Arizona; Clark County, Nevada; and the portion of California that includes the counties of San Bernardino, Los Angeles, Ventura, Santa Barbara, and those counties lying to the south, as shown in Appendix 3.
- I. <u>Region 9 Columbia Pacific Northwest</u>. Region 9 consists of the entirety of Washington and Idaho; all Oregon counties except Klamath County; and the portion of Montana that includes the counties of Deer Lodge, Flathead, Granite, Lake, Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula, Powell, Ravalli, Sanders, and Silver Bow, as shown in Appendix 4.

- J. <u>Region 10 California Great Basin</u>. Region 10 consists of that portion of California that includes the counties of San Luis Obispo, Kern, and Inyo and those counties lying to the north; all Nevada counties except for Clark County; and Klamath County, Oregon, as shown in Appendix 5.
 - K. Region 11 Alaska. Region 11 consists of the entirety of Alaska.
- L. <u>Region 12 Pacific Islands</u>. Region 12 consists of the entirety of Guam, Hawaii, American Samoa, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, and other U.S. Possessions in the Pacific.









